May 16

Tim O'Reilly

Tim O'Reilly

Mellon Foundation open source awards

Chris Mackie of the Mellon Foundation wrote: "The following information is being released to the press later today. A copy is attached, and the full Call for Nominations is available on our website." Disclosure: I've agreed to be a judge for the awards. Here's the press release:

The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation is pleased to announce today a Call for Nominations for the 2006 Mellon Awards for Technology Collaboration (MATC). These awards, to be bestowed for the first time at an international technology conference in the Fall of 2006, will recognize not-for-profit organizations that have demonstrated exceptional leadership in the collaborative development of open-source software through the contribution of substantial, self-funded organizational resources to the open-source project for which they are nominated. The nomination period ends August 15, 2006.
MATC awards will be made at two levels—$25,000 and $100,000—for significant contributions to collaborative, open-source software development that serves one of the Foundation’s traditional constituencies. The level of the award will depend on the scale and significance of the nominated project. Any U.S. or foreign organization that meets the Foundation’s legal criteria for receiving grants and its strict standards for excellence is eligible for consideration. The Board of Trustees of the Mellon Foundation has authorized multiple awards at each level. MATC recipients will be selected by an Award Committee consisting of:
  • Mitchell Baker, CEO, Mozilla Corporation
  • Sir Timothy Berners-Lee KBE, FRS, FREng., Director, World Wide Web Consortium; 3Com Founders Professor of Computer Science, M.I.T.; Professor of Computer Science, University of Southampton
  • Vinton G. Cerf, Vice President & Chief Internet Evangelist, Google, Inc.
  • Ira Fuchs, Vice-President, Research in Information Technology, Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
  • John Gage, Chief Researcher and Director of the Science Office, Sun Microsystems, Inc.
  • Tim O’Reilly, Founder and President of O’Reilly Media
  • John Seely Brown, Former Chief Scientist, Xerox Corp.; Former Director, Xerox PARC
  • Donald J. Waters, Program Officer, Program in Scholarly Communication, Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
The full text of the Call for Nominations is available now, at http://rit.mellon.org/awards/

tags: open source  | comments: 0   | Sphere It

Previous  |  Next

0 TrackBacks

TrackBack URL for this entry: http://blogs.oreilly.com/cgi-bin/mt/mt-t.cgi/4655

Post A Comment:

 (please be patient, comments may take awhile to post)

Type the characters you see in the picture above.